top of page

Johanessburg's Golden Oldie


It has been a while since I last did this, and I apologize to any foodies who wait on these posts (I hope some of you do). Anyway, I would love to share this golden oldie restaurant, The Orient. I have loved this restaurant since I was in grade 10, this is specifically because of the consistency of a great standard. 5 years later (now you all know how young I am) and it is still a place that I enjoy dearly. I typically only used to go there for birthday celebrations - they have the most amazing private rooms which are perfect for intimate gatherings for a fairly big crowd. So quick side note, if you are looking for a place to host any form of birthday celebration/intimate gathering in the evening, this should definitely be an option.

The actual restaurant is so stunning. They try to incorporate as many homey themes as possible to make you feel as comfortable as possible, big tables, subtle lighting, and elegant interior. They even go as far as offering massages while you dine (at a fee of course). I would describe it as a soothing ambiance which is perfect for dinner time conversations. It was incredibly cold that evening, but you would think we were in the middle of summer when you walked in there. I always judge a restaurant based on how warm they keep they patrons, it shows that there is that nurturing touch.

It is a Thai restaurant so I naturally had to try a stir fry (duck) and I would definitely go back to have it again. It is so tasty, perfect texture, good combination of spicing and all those other fancy combinations that make food taste amazing. Everyone at our table thoroughly enjoyed their meals, and we were a pretty big table for that definitely counts for something. There are good portions, at a decent price, it is not the cheapest restaurant Johannesburg has to offer.

What is really cool about this restaurant is the fact that you can bring anyone for any occasions, birthdays, date night, first dates, girl’s night, family gatherings, business meetings. I came with my boyfriend and his family and it was perfect for us, at the table was a combination of young adults, and real adults. We shared stories, laughs and words of wisdom over some refreshing cocktails and very tasty food. The only restriction I would make is for little children, they have quite a mature menu, which wouldn’t be as appreciated by younger kids. The restaurant itself does allow for families via the ambiance, however, the food may present itself as a setback.

For the past 5 years, I have only ever had good things to say about this restaurant, and will always appreciate it for the consistency. You are not a Joburg foodie, unless you have tried this wonderful place out.


bottom of page