top of page

The Foundry

My friend refers to this as his new watering hole, and that might be the most perfect description of this cute little Parktown spot. I have been dying to go to La Boqueria (expect a blog post soon), however they sadly don’t have any TVs and the plan was to match the game while having some drinks and food, so they referred me to their sister restaurant, The Foundry.

It’s a good day time restaurant that can be turned into a fun (non-rowdy) bar. I only sat at the bar and I noticed that the bar gave off a different vibe/feel to the larger restaurant, so all commentary is directed solely at the bar. It is a really cool place that has a wooden rustic feel to it. The aesthetics contributes a lot to the feel good vibes that its gives off, there is something about wooden, rustic restaurants that makes you your most relaxed self. There are a couple of restaurants where I have seen people fighting, almost biting each other’s head off, but I know that this is the type of restaurant that won’t allow for that, there is all this positivity that will definitely overpower any negativity that you try bring. It is the perfect setting that allows for easy casual conversation. They also have a TV, which makes it the perfect place to come watch any sporting event here. The bar is not the biggest, so I think it is more ideal for people who are looking to catch the game, but in an intimate environment which still allows for good conversation.

This is a perfect place to come with your adult friends throw a couple of drinks down, with some really good food. I would definitely recommend this to a small group of adults to come and enjoy each other’s company. It has a very mature, relaxed vibe to it. The actual bar has a very dark lighting to it, and at first I didn’t quite like that, but now I realized that this is what added to the vibe that I enjoyed.

I ordered the cutest cocktails that came in a teapot, and have ice with cucumber in it, so hipster. It had gin, strawberries, cream tea reduction, lime and tonic and my goodness, it was the most perfect quencher on a hot summers Saturday. The fact that it was in a teapot also just made it so much cooler. My food was also pretty yum, I wasn’t in the mood for anything super extravagant, and so I had a burger, which was really bomb. I was so full, but I still insisted on finishing it, so that counts for something. There is so much perfection in the simplicity of a burger and I must add, I have become quite a burger girl, and think my skills on recognizing a good burger have definitely improved.

It is so exciting when you find a restaurant that offers the full package, good food, good drinks, good vibes and excellent service. Eating out is not simply about the food, but more about the experience that is offered when you are there. And I 100% believe that this place gives off the full package. It definitely deserves a return.


bottom of page