top of page

Johannesburg's new favourite

I have been dying to go La Boquira, as mentioned in my previous blog post. Every time I had seen photos of this place, it always looked like such a feel good restaurant that I had to be at. And I was very pleased when this is what I received when I got here.

The biggest thing that they have going for them is 100% the aesthetic. It is a beautiful, open space restaurant, with inside décor that makes you feel like you’re on a cute little hidden scenery enjoying cocktails and meals from there, definitely not in the heart of busy Johannesburg.

The food was amazing, I had the beautiful looking paella as pictured above, and shared it between my friend and I. The meal is quite filling, however I do think they could make it bigger to share. Or alternatively, if you’re having one, maybe get a side tappas to make sure that you are very full.

It attracts a very diverse crowd, there were big families that came along with their kids, groups of friends, and intimate one on one dates. I personally think that it as quite a mature menu, which isn’t the best for young kids, but that would be my only limitation regarding bringing young kids.

It’s the perfect Saturday and Sunday afternoon dinning place. I always feel that restaurants that have super great lighting, outdoor seating, and bright intimate lighting are perfect for a good long, boozy outside lunch. I also think it is great for birthday celebrations, the energy projects happiness and good vibes, which I believe is perfect for someone’s birthday.

Overall, a ver good restaurant to spend your time and money at. With the combination of good company, you could spend you could find yourself with a well spent Saturday/Sunday.


bottom of page