top of page

Johannesburg Breakfast Spots

When I heard the Gemelli had created a breakfast cafe, I didn’t have to think twice about going. The Pantry is as great as you’d expect it to be. It’s cute, intimate, and delicious. Everything you expect a cafe (I think that’s what they’re calling it) to be. They have a limited breakfast menu, which I assume is because they’re still relatively new. Buuuut, I reckon everything on that menu needs to be tried once. I’m almost 87% confident that all the meals taste as wonderful as the two that I’ve captured. This was actually my first time trying a shakshuka and what a perfect introduction into this world. I really have been missing out on a life time of deliciousness. It was filled with flavor, woke the hell out of my tastebuds, but not in that “super spicy” way. It also wasn’t overkilled with too much tomato, had the perfect balance. Poached eggs are a skill that The Pantry has definitely mastered. My friend had Eggs Benedict and was just as obsessed with her meal! Also, I’m always on the hunt for the perfect chai latte, and I found one here! Even better, I had a red chai latte and my life was pleasantly changed! So now my new hunt is obviously to look for Red Chai Lattes. It’s magic in a cup! The Pantry is definitely going to be a consistent favourite. It ticks all the boxes!  


bottom of page